The Birthday Dilemma

Today’s my birthday, “Hooray for me”. I proudly stand as the last survivor (to the best of my knowledge) of the Crimean War. Oh wait, that was in a past life, the one where I was a Russian soldier named Sergei. Jesus, never mind. I don’t know about you, dear reader, but all these past life regression sessions, in addition to being so expensive, often get kinda blurry as to which of my lives I’m living. No wonder I said, “Nyet!” this morning when my tailor asked if I wanted more ruffles on my tux shirt. Good grief!

And yet staying with the Crimean War vet thing, he’s probably how I’ll feel tomorrow after I go out tonight and celebrate the occasion.

But now the “Dilemma”…

Each year, when October fifth will start to get close and a close friend asks, “What are you doing for your birthday? Any big plans?” I always take the macho approach and offer up something dismissive like, “Aw, probably nothin’. Birthdays are no big deal to me, they’re just another day, know what I mean?” But then long about nine or ten o’clock on the actual day of my birthday, and I’m working behind the stick where exactly no one has said a word about said birthday, I start to get sad or antsy for fear the night might pass without one note of recognition. Some tough guy, huh? And then just like the big ol’ boob that I am at least when it comes to sentimental stuff like birthdays, especially my birthday, I’ll somehow get the news out there in the room. I’ll say, “Jesus, I don’t believe this, today is my freakin’ birthday and I almost forgot. Can you imagine? And it’s already ten o’clock!” In a performance Jeremy Renner would have trouble topping.

Then of course, word would make it’s way round the room and before you know it the piano man’s calling the room to order announcing what day it is, he’s leading a spirited sing-along thing of “Happy Birthday” to me, as a waitress is bringing a slice of cheesecake lit by a candle glowing in the dark as she walks. WhileΒ I in the meantime, I who is so surprised by all this, am blushing as if to say, “Shucks, you shouldn’t-a done this!” But god forbid if the night had passed and none of that would’ve happened, your friendly bartender would probably pout until dawn. Again, what a boob!

But I’m not behind the stick tonight yet still the dilemma exists, as I go to my favorite bar to visit with friends. I mean I can’t walk into the joint and say, “Hey, gang, today’s my birthday.” That would sound too much like, “Hey, look at me!” And yet I don’t want the night to go by without a healthy round of good wishes, not to mention a bunch of wet kisses from the fairer sex. Now that’s a dilemma!

Oh well, I’ve got a few hours before I leave so I guess I’ll figure this out, plus there’s always that lame old ruse I used when bartending. You know, that, “I could-a had a V-8,” smack I issue sharply to my forehead, followed by, “I just realized what day it is!” I’ll just have to see.

And now in closing, if you think I wrote this post today to elicit some birthday wishes from you in the comment section, perish the thought. I mean, c’mon, guys! “Birthday’s are no big deal to me, they’re just another day, know what I mean?” πŸ™‚

See ya’ down the road, dear reader, have a great week-end!

17 Responses to “The Birthday Dilemma”


  1. 1 Walter Biggins October 5, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Well, I’ll bite. Happy birthday, sir! Here’s hoping there are many more years (and blog pots) to come.

  2. 2 scribbler50 October 5, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    Walter: Thanks for the good wishes. I believe it’s your first comment so welcome aboard!

  3. 3 Kelly Sedinger (@Jaquandor) October 5, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Happy birthday! Mine was last week. Only the coolest of people have birthdays around this time of year.

  4. 4 scribbler50 October 5, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Kelly: Thanks, man, and here’s to all us Libra’s!
    (Really like your blog at Byzantium’s Shores.)

  5. 5 Alain (aka Autistic Lurker) October 5, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Happy birthday Man πŸ™‚

    Mine was on the 23 of September and I have yet to make it to NYC but I will, soon….

    I’ll drink to your birthday; cheer!

    Alain (aka Autistic Lurker)

  6. 6 Paul Cutlip October 6, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Happy birthday and how did it go? Mine is tomorrow but you know.. no big deal just like any other day no need to make a fuss or anything πŸ™‚

  7. 7 scribbler50 October 6, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Alain: And cheeres to you as well. Thanks.

    Paul Cutlip: Hah! Ver funny ending. Meanwhile, thanks to Facebook (which I don’t belong to) someone got the word out and several people came by and made it a party. I had a great time but this morning I feel like that guy from the Crimean War.
    Happy Birthday to you, enjoy!

  8. 8 marty wombacher (@martywombacher) October 6, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Happy birthday to you! Sounds like it was a great night! I’ll tip a few in your honor tonight, Scribbler!

  9. 9 scribbler50 October 6, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Marty: It was a great night, now you have a great one tonight!
    Cheers!

  10. 11 scribbler50 October 6, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    Comrade: Grazie, Bro!

  11. 12 Sergio(Bill's) October 6, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday Old Friend! Hope see you soon πŸ™‚

  12. 13 scribbler50 October 6, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Sergio: Thank you, Serge, see you at the reopening of Bill’s. (Whenever THAT is!)

  13. 14 Irishirritant October 8, 2012 at 11:14 am

    I am guilty of similar behavior, will try the head slap next time.
    Thanks again, Slante, and good year.

  14. 15 scribbler50 October 9, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Irish: Ditto, my friend, ditto!

  15. 16 Ken October 21, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Hey Scrib,

    Happy Birthday, man. When are you going to get back behind the stick.

  16. 17 scribbler50 October 22, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Ken: I’ll get back behind the stick when we reopen. I’m not going to work anyplace else and I’m told we may be back in business before the 1st of the year. Fingers crossed.
    Thanks, man, for the birthday wish even though “it’s just another day.” πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Archives


