They’re B-a-a-a-a-a-c-k!

It should be noted at the outset here that your friendly bartender has not had a drop to drink today. That he would, if asked to take a breathalyzer test, blow a zero. And also as far as his sanity goes, if a gizmo existed for that, he’s sure he would slide up the scale to a 9 on a 10. (A 10 of course being utterly sane which perhaps is a little too boring to be a bartender anyway!) And finally, in wrapping up this lengthy disclaimer, when it comes to the act of telling the truth his nose is nowhere near the size of Bill Clinton’s. For he’s not given over to flights fancy or statements that call for the definition of “is”. He tells it straight, he’s got all his marbles, he’s sitting here sober as a judge, all of which makes the following all the more compelling.

This guy came into the bar one day, I’m going back maybe three months, and took up a seat at the bar for drinks and dinner. A first timer. And as much as he liked his New York steak, his drink and of course yours truly, he couldn’t get over the place and all of its history. So much so that in between bites he gave his girlfriend an ongoing commentary on his cell phone. “You should see this,” and “You should see that,” he whispered into his phone while chomping on his vittles, and the whole experience couldn’t have gone any better. Unless of course his girlfriend had been there… a problem he promptly solved a few nights later.

He and his girlfriend had dinner at a table then joined me later at the bar, so his girlfriend also could hear about the history of the place. Which I shared with her. Then after I finished my romp through time the guy then asked if they could go upstairs to look around. They wanted to see the dining room which was closed at the time.

“Sure,” I said to this wide-eyed couple, “go up and knock yourselves out. I’d like to narrate your tour but I’m a little too busy right now.” And off they went.

Then about  twenty minutes later, which was plenty of time to  take in the pictures adorning every inch of wall space, photos from the late 1800’s of Broadway legends, they returned to the bar with delight and that’s when it happened. The guy (let’s call him Joe) said to his girlfriend (let’s call  her Marie), “Holy crap, Marie, take a look at this!” Then he jammed his cell phone into her hand and both of them got this look like they’d just seen a ghost. And that’s because they had!

“Oh, my God,” said Marie, “you’ve got to be kidding me.”

“Hey, pictures don’t lie,” said Joe, grabbing back his cell phone. “That’s a freaking ghost!”

See, what had happened was, while doing their tour of the second floor Joe kept snapping pictures while circling the room (the empty room!), and appearing in one of his photos was this (person?) sitting at a table staring right back at him. There was no doubt about it.

Now the image wasn’t so discernible you could make out any facial features, but the specter definitely had human form which looked female. The image was sitting on a chair facing sideways and the face was turned to the camera as if it was posing. You could see the darkened spots for the eyes, nose and mouth. And as I stared into that photo after Marie had passed it along as per my request, I said to myself, Finally I have some proof!

Because for years I’ve been hearing all these crazy stories, all these unbelievable tales, about all these nightly guests who revel unseen. Not to mention I’ve heard on many occasions these people who are so-called “sensitives”, while sitting at the bar unaware of our history, say to me something like, “You know this place has spirits, don’t you?” To which I’ve always replied, “Yeah, I’ve heard a few things.” {In fact go to (this past blog) to see those “few things”.} But hearsay is all it’s ever been, I’ve never personally had a sighting, and dammit if the truth be known that’s how I want to keep it. I’m told it’s rather painful when your head hits the ceiling!

But the good news is which I’m happy to report, and again according to these psychics, our spirits are playful and give off a positive vibe. They’re friendly ghosts not trouble makers, which is why I’ve never contacted one of those ghost hunter shows. I wouldn’t want to make them “unfriendly” due to that intrusion.

Which gets me to thinking…

As I wrote a few weeks back, our landlord is trying to boot us out so he can turn our fine establishment into a chi chi place. To callously toss to the winds all that New York history. And if he happens to be successful in this (which thank God he hasn’t been yet), I’m wondering what kind of hell he’ll have to pay for that. By our ghosts! By our “permanent” residents who can’t be evicted, the ones who have claimed this space since the Roaring Twenties. I mean will glasses and dishes start to fly? Will moans and groans of an eerie nature replace the sounds of their Muzak? And will customers simply be chased out the door while screaming into the night, “This place is haunted!!!”? I certainly hope so. But then again maybe I don’t. Because that would mean we didn’t get booted out after all. Only time will tell.

And our friendly ghosts will be there to tell the tale!

See you next week-end, dear reader, and remember there’s more going on than what your eyes tell you! {Cue theme from The Twilight Zone!}

20 Responses to “They’re B-a-a-a-a-a-c-k!”


  1. 1 unclevinny February 4, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    So… post the photo! This boring old skeptic is always in the mood to see ghost pix.

  2. 2 scribbler50 February 4, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    uncle vinny: I wish I could, man, but the guy has it on his phone and I haven’t seen him since. (I can see your eyes glazing over!) But this I promise you, if he ever comes in again or if someone else scores with another image, I’ll post that photo as sure as I’m typing these words. Okay?

    And again my apologies, you’ll have to just take my word for it. (See first paragraph!)

  3. 3 unclevinny February 4, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    No problemo, I’ll look forward to it!

  4. 4 Comrade PhysioProf February 4, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Of course the ghosts are happy at your place, dude!

  5. 5 scribbler50 February 4, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    Comrade: Especially when you and Mrs. Physioprof visit. Which reminds me, it’s been too long since the two of you brightened our doorway. ‘Nuff said, Dude!

  6. 6 Marty Wombacher February 5, 2012 at 10:35 am

    I hope the ghosts in the machine keep your bar safe from the landlord who wants to wreck it. And I know this story is true, but would love to see that photo too! And cheers to Rod Serling, he could’ve made a decent Twilight Zone episode out of this post.

  7. 7 scribbler50 February 6, 2012 at 12:22 am

    Marty: Rod Serling could’ve made a story out of anything. The man was genius!
    And thanks, pal, for the good wishes re: our bar.

  8. 8 MikeQ February 6, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Another great post from you, Scrib! You have a great site for networking as well. I found Marty Wombacher’s site from reading your comment section . . . like to think that Marty is familiar with Arthur Koestler’s “The Ghost in the Machine”. You’re right about Rod Serling. The Twilight Zone has to be one of, if not the best TV series of all time.

  9. 9 brenda cullerton February 6, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    I believe in ghosts, i believe in ghosts, i do. (who said that? Was it dorothy in the wizard of oz, Scrib?) Heavenly post. Hehe

  10. 10 scribbler50 February 6, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Mike Q: Yeah, Marty’s a good dude, as are all my cyber regulars I’m happy to report. Which includes you, Mike.

    brenda cullerton: Don’t know who said that but I’m glad you’re a believer too. You’ll have to come in again soon and BRING YOUR CAMERA!!! (Liked your play on words, my friend, ho ho!)

  11. 11 IrishIrritant February 6, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Funny, there are investigations about the spirt of a Bartender up here in Wisconsin, would the ghost of an 800 lb.soul be light on his feet?
    I can’t wait to vist.
    Thanks again Scrib

  12. 12 scribbler50 February 6, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Irish: No, thank you, my friend, for sending along that link! And yes, that 800 pound ghost would be light on his “wings”!

  13. 13 Anonymoustache February 7, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Of course you have spirits there…it’s a bar, for cryin out ‘loud!! 🙂 And of course they’re happy….it’s your bar after all, bro…

  14. 14 scribbler50 February 7, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Anonymoustache: Wait a minute. Did you just do a play on words? How Anonymoustache of you!
    Welcome back, old friend.

  15. 15 Jennifer February 9, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Anonymoustache beat me to it…

  16. 16 scribbler50 February 9, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Jennifer: What do they say? Great minds think alike?

    Thanks.

  17. 17 chris February 9, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    that’s an amazing story…it would turn me into a believer….hopefully someday i’ll get to visit this amazing place….and hopefully there will be no new owners…EVER!!!!

  18. 18 scribbler50 February 9, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    chris: In keeping with the “spiritual” tone… from your keyboard to God’s ears, my friend.
    Thanks a lot!

  19. 19 Patsy February 14, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Hello good fellow followers of Scribbler (Brenda C in particular)
    It was the lion in The Wizard of Oz who stammered those almost those lines: “I do believe in spooks” – I call upon the great and powerful IMDB (http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0004330/quotes) for confirmation:

    “Cowardly Lion: I *do* believe in spooks, I *do* believe in spooks. I do, I do, I do, I *do* believe in spooks, I *do* believe in spooks, I do, I do, I do, I *do*!

    Wicked Witch of the West: Ah! You’ll believe in more than that before I’m finished with you.”

    Cheers!

  20. 20 scribbler50 February 14, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Patsy: Cheers to YOU, my friend, thank you for sending that along. I’ll make sure Brenda sees it. Meanwhile, there just isn’t anything out there that can’t be found these days, right? As Bert Lahr’s cowardly lion might say, “That’s mah-ngah-ngah-ngah-ngah-velous!!!


Leave a Reply

Archives


