“Me and Mrs. Jones”

Even though he sees wedding rings on the twosome sitting at the bar interacting so sweetly, hanging on every word like it might be their last, interrupted by kissing, he knows in his heart they didn’t give those rings to each other. There’s a certain air about scenes like this which are rife with too many telltales, and they tell your friendly bartender he’s part of a tryst. (Which he doesn’t much care for.)

And how does he know this?

There’s the constant checking of the time of night by one or both parties, there’s the leaning in with whispered words so special they can’t be made public (married couples don’t do that), there’s the surreptitious cell phone calls coming in and going out, usually handled with a rolling of the eyes to indicate, “Sorry, gotta take this,” and finally there’s the exit which they carry out separately. The real giveaway. They leave in stages so as not to be seen as they walk up the stairs to the street, as they make their way to the lives that await them at home. Or their next stop on the tryst.

Now I mentioned I don’t much care for this thing, being part of a so called tryst, so let me explain my stance so you know where I’m coming from. Because it’s not that I want to judge these people as I have no right to do so, nor do I have any knowledge of why they have come to be lovers. They have their reasons. And I’m just a guy who serves them their drinks and steps away. But I’m also a guy who’s been down this road on the lousy end of a cheat, and I know the inevitable pain that comes with the outcome. That said, my thoughts always drift to the person at home because that’s where I know the pain is, and somehow I feel connected to this as accomplice. Which I know is crazy. I have nothing to do with “this thing going on”, I’m not doing the cheating, but I can’t help having those feelings whenever I serve them. When I, in making them feel at home somehow give my blessing. Which is even crazier. But I am who I am and I can’t help having those feelings.

However, I recently had a couple at the bar who gave me a new perspective, and who managed to spare me those feelings of guilt but only because I didn’t know they were trysting. That is until the ending. For up to that point they had shown me no signs, never acted like each moment counted, just talked and drank unremarkably much like a married couple. And their rings said there were married! They had freely at first introduced themselves (let’s call them Jack and Kay) and they even ate at the bar which is clearly un-tryst-like. For food as you know takes time away from kissing and all that leg rubbing, the kissing and all that leg rubbing these two didn’t need. They were just happy to be there. With each other. Though they did slip in some kisses in between courses.

But then somewhere toward the end of the night, after a good three hour run, everything got all weird and very unmarried-like. The whole scene changed. They both got involved in some personal calls, a whole bunch of whispering took place, and all of a sudden I felt like I was in a Bond movie. That’s how covert it got. And the coup de gras was the fact that they made separate exits.

“Is Kay coming back?” I asked of Jack, having not seen her back at the bar for at least ten minutes. I thought she’d simply gone upstairs to the ladies room.

“Ah, no,” Jack said, rather seriously, “Kay is gone now.” Then he paid his bill, left a massive tip, and stood at the bar til the call came in he’d been waiting for. “Yes, I’m ready,” he whispered into his phone, “bring the car around front and I’ll be right out.” Then he closed his phone, shook my hand and walked out. Like a man under cover.

Well I’ll be damned! I thought to myself, as I watched him run up the stairs, I guess this Jack and Kay are not what they seem. This was more than dinner and drinks this was a rendezvous. And those two are lovers! Which brings me to the judgement part I said I wouldn’t do here.

Though I’m not condoning the act of cheating in any way, shape or form, I’m also not inside some person’s head. Which means I don’t know them. Not really. So I really don’t know why these two came together or why they are this kind of couple, but I do know that love finds its way unmindful of consequences. And this couple seemed in love. Not so much by the pawing and kissing which most people do while trysting, but by sharing, talking, enjoying just like… well, a married couple. All night long. And since I don’t have the words to describe their dilemma, for surely there must be some pain there (they’re not even able to walk out the door as a couple), I’ll let the song at the end of this post try to put that pain in perspective. Which means, soul mates don’t always find each other the very first time around, but when they do that force is almost unstoppable. And that’s none of my business.

See you next week-end, dear reader, try and have a good one.

13 Responses to ““Me and Mrs. Jones””


  1. 1 Chris August 6, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    Who knows why people do what they do Mr. Scrib. I’ve actually done it myself, slept with a married woman that is. Not because I’m a home wrecker, and not on purpose really. We were friends for a long time and he was a miserable prick who treated her horribly, I know it sounds like I’m making excuses here. I guess in a way I am and I know it was wrong then and I know it now but the funny thing is if I had it to do over again I wouldn’t change things. It happened, it was enjoyable to the utmost while it lasted she ended up divorcing him about a year later and he is still the same miserable prick and she is happy with someone else. We still remain great friends. Funny thing is I wouldn’t touch her with a ten foot pole now that she is happy even though she is just about one of the most attractive women I’ve ever met. I think in some way the James Bond part was fun, living on the edge kinda thing you know? And the fact that we had to hide things only made the part where we were together even more enjoyable because its like at last this person that I constantly think of every moment of the day is finally with me. It’s a different kind of excitement and thrill than being with someone who you can call anytime and see anytime. It’s hard to explain. While I’d like to say I’d never do it again and probably I wouldn’t you never can tell because love is one hell of a drug. Have a good week and please don’t think I’m a total asshole. I’m really sorry you were cheated on, I’ve had that also and it really sucks badly.

    -Chris

  2. 2 Anonymoustache August 7, 2011 at 4:39 am

    Great post, man. “…soul mates don’t always find each other the very first time around, but when they do that force is almost unstoppable…” great line…But when it comes to cheating/affairs etc I tend to think of the James M Cain (Double Indemnity, Postman Always Rings Twice….) side of things, and how these things end up much of the time. And his classic line (from Double Indemnity, I think)…”That’s all it takes….a drop of fear to curdle love into hate…”

  3. 3 scribbler50 August 7, 2011 at 9:41 am

    chris: Don’t know what to say except we all have done some things of which we’re not proud. If I started listing my own confessions of sowing my wild oats, I’d likely come off as the heavy in a freaking Harlequin. None of us is perfect, that’s why I said in the post I’ve no right to judge.
    Thanks, Chris

    Anonymoustache: No doubt, my friend, too often tragedy and hurt are what awaits them. But then sometimes not. Neither of which can be avoided once the fire is lit.

  4. 4 Comrade PhysioProf August 7, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    There is no way to make sense of the passion of the crotches.

  5. 5 scribbler50 August 7, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Comrade; Said in true Physioprof fashion, Bro, and I agree. Like I said, once the fire is lit…

  6. 6 Chris August 7, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    “Like I said, once the fire is lit…”

    You have to go to the doctor for some ointment? Oh oh never mind I get it now. 😛

  7. 7 physiobabe August 8, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Been there, no t-shirt. We never know how love will come to us, sometimes in a most unusual way.

    Ciao, Scrib. Hope you’re staying cool.

  8. 8 scribbler50 August 8, 2011 at 9:08 am

    physiobabe: Cool as a cuke, Babe, thanks. And thanks for the comment.

  9. 9 Susanne August 10, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks for sharing your stories, I enjoy them all.
    Two things came to my mind instantaneously, but in parallel with this one. First, remembering this wonderful song (of course I had to check out the Youtube link – and did a detect a lisp in Billy Paul?) as it played on the radio in the 70s and my dad picking up my mom to dance to it; it was his favorite song. Did they have a story or did they just enjoy the music? Who knows.
    And at the same time, thinking that the couple probably did not have that partner at home who would dance with them to this song. And sometimes you just find that person later. Susanne

  10. 10 scribbler50 August 10, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Susanne: Thanks for your thoughts, and yes… who knows the story behind this story. Something was obviously missing at home and I suspect more than a dance partner.
    PS: Your dad sounds like a real romantic. Very cool!

  11. 11 Ken August 10, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Scrib: Great post. All, I can say is that when you’ve been married for a number of years, and quite unexpectedly, the love of your life literally walks into your office, it’s both overwhelming and horribly complicated.

  12. 12 scribbler50 August 11, 2011 at 12:37 am

    Ken: I can only imagine, my friend. In The Godfather they called that feeling “the thunderbolt”!

    Thanks.

  13. 13 Eileen Brown April 1, 2017 at 7:12 pm

    Hi Scrib, I find the song nauseating, because of the pain involved in its story. Broken promises make for great love songs and broken hearts, There was a song whose lyrics said, ” Be sure its true when you say I love you. It’s a sin to tell a lie. Millions of hearts have been broken just because those words were spoken.” So lesson is, don’t say it unless you mean it!


Leave a Reply

Archives


