Another birthday already?

If it’s corny to celebrate the birthday of one’s blog (which I’ve recently heard it is), then call me an ear “as high as an elephant’s eye”. Because I’m celebrating my two years this freaking morning. And I can’t believe it. For it seems like only yesterday that a certain “prof” had said to me, as I sipped my Jack Daniels and after sharing with him and his wife one of my bar stories, “Why don’t you do a blog, dude, and put all this shit out there on the internet? Just write something down, man, I’ll set up a site and tout you and people will come.” Well I did, he did and you have come. And here I am, two years later, still popping off and pouring out stories from Bar-land. Who knew?

But I’d be remiss if I didn’t say that I am not only proud but truly grateful to all of you because it’s been you who have made this whole thingΒ  possible. And I meant that. For without your loyal support (some of you from day one and you know who you are) I would’ve hung up my long white apron a long time ago. You’ve not only made this a joy to do but thanks to some of your comments you’ve made this an education. And a riot… and you know who you are too! So before this corn turns to mush and has to be creamed and served as a side dish instead of an entree’… let me just say that I love you, I appreciate you, I’ve never taken you for granted, and I thank you from the bottom of my tip cup for coming to Bar-land. Cheers, my friends, now on to year three!

Scribbler

PS: Call it guilt or call it gall but just so you have something to read before you quietly disappear into cyberspace, instead of my usual pour-and-tell I’ve decided to throw down a rhyme for this royal occasion. Hope you like it…

Could it be that two years have gone by / since first sitting down to apply / my thoughts in a post / to rant,Β  joke or toast / to blog who, what, when, where and why?

For it seems it was only last week / with chutzpah, dumb luck and pure cheek / I opened the door / and started to pour / what I hoped would be pearls, so to speak.

Now of course I fell short of that goal / as some of those pearls came out coal / but maybe at best / you’ve liked all the rest / my name still appears on your “roll”.

So what have I learned in this time / besides how to write a dumb rhyme / did I grow where it counts / learn of life just an ounce / or go through the motions in mime?

Well I’m happy to say not the latter / this hasn’t been just idle chatter / I’ve soared to great ends / it’s called making friends / and that’s the real heart of this matter.

For words are just words on a post / if no one responds to the host / he needs your approval / or suffer removal / his blog, as they say, would be toast!

Which is why I’m now giving you thanks / for staying right here in the ranks / it’s people like you / being loyal and true / that make me fire bullets not blanks.

Yes thank you again one and all / this time that we’ve spent’s been a ball / now on to year three / with hope and with glee / and that, as we say, is “Last call!”

See ya’ next week…

PPS: I also want to thank Isis the Scientist and Arikia Millikan for all their help in the tech department this past year. I’m still a second grader with all that and they came through like troopers. A hug and a kiss, ladies!

34 Responses to “Another birthday already?”


  1. 2 Kewalo October 30, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Happy Birthday…we’ve had 2 years of smiles and tears…what could be better then that?

  2. 3 Autistic Lurker October 30, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Happy Blogday πŸ™‚

    I’m new here since a month or 2 and I’d like to take a drink to that but then, the primary care doc put me on a liquid diet with no alcohol, no coffee, etc.. (cause: food poisoning last Monday).

  3. 4 Arikia October 30, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Aww Happy Blogoversary Scribbler! I anticipate that by the time Behind the Stick is 3, it will have produced offspring that will be on coffee tables and bookshelves across the country! XO

  4. 5 unclevinny October 30, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Happy Bi-Birthday, amigo. I’m sending you a virtual hug from Vinny…

  5. 6 scribbler50 October 30, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Comrade, Kewalo, Lurker, and Uncle Vinnie: Thanks one and all, I really appreciate it.

    Arikia: From your keyboard to God’s ears, my dear friend. XO

  6. 7 Ken October 30, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Scrib: Finding your blog was a happy discovery/ Your stories from bar-land aided my recovery/ From a busted ankle which left me in misery/ as I lay in bed in rehab drowning in self pity.

    Oh, that’s enough. Happy 2d, keep up the good work. Haven’t commented much lately because I’ve been involved in this campaign. IT looks like my guy is going to be elected governor. Stories from pol-land may follow.

  7. 8 Pharm Sci Grad October 30, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Congrats!!! Love the elephant eye reference and the rhyme. Both made me grin!

    Thanks for the smiles and laughs… and reminders of what life is like dealing with the general public. I did six years and sometimes forget to relish the quiet, public-free-zone of my current job. πŸ™‚

    Cheers – To another great year!

  8. 9 M.Lane October 30, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    I am so glad that I found your blog. Every post is really great. Here’s to another year!

    ML
    mlanesepic.blogspot.com

  9. 10 Jennifer October 31, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Indeed, here’s to year 3!

  10. 11 scribbler50 October 31, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Ken: So I’ve brought out the poet in you, eh? Love it! Thanks, Ken, and good luck on Tuesday though I doubt you’ll need it.

    Pharm Sci Grad: Cheers to you as well and I’m glad you got the “elephant’s eye” reference. I reached way back for that one.

    M.Lane: Right back at ya’, pal, I’m glad I found your blog as well. All the best.

    Jennifer: Thank you, my friend, onward and upward!

  11. 12 Isis the Scientist October 31, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Happy anniversary, dear heart!

  12. 13 Petro October 31, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    No, Scrib – Thank *you*. Happy B-Day!

  13. 14 scribbler50 October 31, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Isis: Thank you, dearer heart!

    Petro: Appreciate your loyalty, man, I look forward to your weekly comments.

  14. 15 jc October 31, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    That’s some sappy shit, yo!

    2 years went fast! Trying to outlast Bertha? Congrats:)

  15. 16 scribbler50 October 31, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    jc: Wow, what a memory, that’s some amazing shit, yo! Of course you mean Bertha the old cash register. Well done and thanks!

  16. 17 Donna B. November 1, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Cake! There should be cake! Happy Anniversary and I’m looking forward to the next year.

  17. 18 Irishirritant November 1, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Cheers, sure, the nuns didn’t like your scribbling…but it’s not an irritant to us out here in cyber space. Thanks.

  18. 19 Courtney November 1, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Happy blogversary! I’ve only discovered you recently but I truly enjoy your writing and am so glad you are still blogging! Congrats~!

  19. 20 chris November 1, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Scrib the few minutes out of my week that it takes to read your blog is a pleasure, regardless if I agree with you or not on everything. You seem like a very reasonable level headed fellow with a keen sense of humor and your blog is very enjoyable. So as long as you continue to put it out, I will continue to read and be entertained. I wish you well sir and perhaps one day I will make it up there to the real barland.

    PS. Sorry about the rift I seemed to have caused not agreeing with your blog about smoking. I’d of replied to the people but then it would have probably gotten worse. Just for the record though I’m a liberal democrat, not a libertarian tea bag moron as someone had implied, just clearing that up. lol Hope you had a good halloween.

  20. 21 scribbler50 November 1, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Donna B: You bake it and I will come! Thanks, Donna, as always.

    Irishirritant: Ah, those nuns, I’ll bet there all in a bar right now discussing me. “And he seemed like such a nice Kid! Another, Sister Ignatius, before we blow this joint?”
    Thanks, man.

    Courtney; Glad you’re now a “regular” and I hope you continue being one. Thanks for the good wishes.

    chris: Hey, man, no apology necessary, that was a volatile topic that got legs (pro or con) on other blogs as well. In fact if you look at some of the links it became a firestorm. And for which I’m grateful. But having stated my case in the post though, I pretty much stayed out of the fray as well.
    Cheers!

  21. 22 PalMD November 1, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Wow, time certainly does fly…

  22. 23 scribbler50 November 1, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    PalMD: Like an SST, my friend, thanks for your support.

  23. 24 d-a-p November 2, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    …and a very very happy 2 year anniversary…great stories with lots of honest warmth and humor as well as a taste of the dark side which is hard for many of us to relate to…..very few lumps of coal if any at all……it really doesn’t get any better than that for this reader…
    thank you and congratulations my friend….
    d-a-p

  24. 25 scribbler50 November 2, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    d-a-p: And thank you, old friend, for your weekly visits. As I said, no sense in doing this if no one comes.

  25. 26 chris jones November 4, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Happy B-day Scribbler. I eagerly look forward to your posts and often share them with grateful family and friends. You are touching many lives in a good way. Thank you for writing.

  26. 27 blue girl November 4, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    So sorry I’m late to the party, but!

    Happy Blogoversary, Scribbler! And many more!

    xoxo

  27. 28 kathequa November 4, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Well, Happy Anniversary. This could certainly go on for quite some time, as the restaurant/bar business is ripe with interesting tales. And you do tell a good tale. And yes, people oddly do become incredulous upon learning that you don’t serve blue cheese stuffed olives. WTF?

  28. 29 scribbler50 November 4, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Chris Jones: All I can say is thank you, your words make my weekly “homework” assignment worth the effort. Especially on those Saturday mornings when I’m panicked and I still don’t have an idea. πŸ™‚
    Regards from Bar-land to Vine-land!

    Blue Girl: So THERE you are, FINALLY! You’re martini’s getting warm, for crying out loud! Love the party hat, by the way. But seriously, B.G., getting to know you has been one of the many joys of doing this blog. So cheers and thank you, my friend!

    kathequa: Welcome aboard there, newcomer, and thanks for your comment. Knowing whereof you speak, I look forward to more of your restaurant insights in the future. All the best!

  29. 30 blue girl November 5, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I would love to say, “Scribbler? Please chill my Boodles Martini!” But. I don’t like gin. Which is such a bummer. Because I seriously want to order and drink! A Boodles Martini… πŸ™‚ Just because — how cool does it sound? lol

  30. 31 blue girl November 5, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    *So cool* I should have said πŸ™‚

  31. 32 scribbler50 November 6, 2010 at 1:41 am

    blue girl: It does sound cool so let’s order a Boodles martini and (between you and me) I’ll pour a vodka martini and no one will be the wiser. And “dirty” if you like to sweeten the pot. How’s that? πŸ™‚

  32. 33 Anonymoustache November 21, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Sorry for showing up so late, dude, but here’s wishing you a very happy blogiversary and hoping for many many more!
    Thanks for the generous pours of the best verbal vintage every week, my friend!

  33. 34 scribbler50 November 21, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Anonymoustache: No, thank you, my friend, for the generous and clever comments you post every week. And I mean that.


Leave a Reply

Archives


