“Ya’ wanna’ get even more drunk?” (UPDATED)

My dear friend Blue Girl, after reading this post, sent me this video which is the perfect background music for when that couple left the bar. See if you agree. And even if you don’t… enjoy!

9 Responses to ““Ya’ wanna’ get even more drunk?” (UPDATED)”


  1. 1 blue girl May 10, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    …or maybe (for chrissakes!) I’m mellowing to the point of sappiness, but to go to my opening sentence about “sweet and nice”… if this wasn’t sweet and nice I don’t know what is.

    Same as this song. 🙂 Makes me all sappy and happy.

  2. 2 scribbler50 May 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Me too, Beege, thanks again! 🙂

  3. 3 Jager May 11, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Being a man of a certain age (damn old and getting older) I have a yellowing pile of bar tales and more than a few involve some sweet drunks. When I lived in Boston’s Back Bay, my favorite spot, the bar at a steakhouse, that in the olden days, allowed cigar smoking. After one long grinding day at work, I walked over to the bar, had a Jack while waiting for a place at the bar to have dinner. As I stood standing and sipping, an older couple came in with their daughter, she was in her late 30’s, a smashing brunette. The mother and father were a nicely dressed, classy couple. Did I mention the daughter was simply outstanding? They were waiting for their table in the dining room and the old man struck up a conversation with me about the Sox which lead into his daughter’s recent divorce from a low life, scumbag attorney. For 10 minutes this guy poured his soul out to me about his lovely girl. While I’m listening to him the mother and daughter are lost in conversation, both laughing and smiling while the old man is telling me all the things he’d like to do to his ex-son inlaw. I’m dry and I order myself and the trio another round. About halfway through the drinks, my favorite bartender signals that he has a seat available at the bar, I say good bye to my new friends and work my way through a seafood platter with a nice Pinot Grigio, order another jack and light up Cuban Bolivar, amazed, as always, how the ventilation system immediately sucks the smoke away from the bar. I’ve now had 4 Jacks and the wine, the buzz is washing away my shitty day. Out of no where the “lovely girl” appears at my side and tells me Dad wants me to join them for an after dinner drink, I pay my tab and follow her to their table-the view was incredible! At the table among other things, the old man asks me if I play pool. I said sure I did and in minutes we are off to a pool hall not far from Fenway Park. More drinks, pool, more drinks, more pool. Now we are all reeling from the alcohol and the daughter takes me by the arm, leads me away from the pool table, kisses me hard on the mouth and thanks me for giving her dad an evening that her ex-husband never did or would! We ended up having a late breakfast at the Blue Diner, I was invited to join them at the cape that weekend and for the next couple of years, I thoughly enjoyed playing the son in law he never had with all the perks that position implies.

  4. 4 blue girl May 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Wonderful story, jager!

  5. 5 scribbler50 May 11, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Jager: I echo Blue Girl’s statement. And add amazing. The things that happen in Bar-land, right? But it also makes me wonder after all those summers together why you aren’t son-in-law number two!

    Just askin! 🙂

  6. 6 Jager May 11, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Sribbler,

    1. My company sold our business in Boston and I was promoted to corporate and had to move. See number 2 for why that was a good thing.

    2. The old man started to monopolize the relationship, at times I spent more time with him than I did with the “lovely girl”. I ended up not the “son in law he never had” but his surrogate son which made me her brother in a sense. She was an only child and her parents dominated her life to a large degree, I think in 2 years we spent over half of our time together with her parents.

    3. I did ask her to go with me when I was promoted, the answer, I could never leave Mom and Dad alone, so there you go! Her dad offered me a job, I declined.

  7. 7 jc May 11, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I played that song for one of my piano recitals in school. I never really listened to the words before. I love it even more.

  8. 8 scribbler50 May 12, 2010 at 12:52 am

    jc: I’m with you, it really is a nice song, beautifully done. And that high voice makes it.

  9. 9 d-a-p May 12, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    perfect background music..i always really liked that song…and it captures the joy of those two lucky people you had the pleasure of meeting and writing about…
    d-a-p


Leave a Reply

Archives


