Simply thanks…

Hey, gang… guys and gals, dudes and dudesses, all who come to this bar… just a simple message this week from your friendly bartender. And that message is this…

Thank you all so very much for the wonderful comments last week, you have no idea what a spiritual lift you have given me. Unbelievable!!! Especially those comments where someone came forward who experienced a similar setback (or knew someone who did), the amount of encouragement from that sharing is truly inestimable. For this is indeed just a bump in the road in the ongoing journey of life, and one I’ll surely drive over with a little more time. 

But until I do get over that bump and blog with my usual (a-hem!) flair, let me propose this toast to you if I may. ‘Cause it’s my turn.

Cheers and love, dear reader, good wishes and health to you all… the best is yet to come if only we let it. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

Over and out from Bar-land… see ya’ next week-end!

PS: Though I’ve put on a positive face, I still have to say that I’m pissed… my dreams of becoming a diamond cutter are over! Fuck!!!

12 Responses to “Simply thanks…”


  1. 1 Petro November 28, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    “…and in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.” – Lennon/McCartney

  2. 2 Donna B. November 28, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I raise my glass in return!

    Don’t worry about the diamonds. Think of all that you can do! This blog proves you can cut the mustard when it comes to writing… and the subject matters proves you’ve been cutting the mustard for years as a bartender.

    My guess is you can still cut a rug too. Just don’t cut the cheese.

  3. 3 physiobabe November 29, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Dear, dear Scrib, I raised a silent toast to you when we gathered around the table on Thanksgiving. A voi salute (I’ll save you the trouble of translating: “to your health”) See you next week, I hope.

  4. 4 Bugsy November 29, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Scribbler
    So shocked to hear last night about your ordeal. Can you possibly have any more medical news this year? Are we both in agreement that 2009 must go and let’s hope for a brighter 2010! MY God, you have been thru a lot.
    Glad you are still able to be thankful through it all.
    Barbara gave me the news last night as she departed the bar, won’t be seeing anyone till I get back from the Andy Cooney tour on Dec 26. Hoping to see you over the holiday and back for a Jack at the piano.

    Your piano buddy
    BUGSY

  5. 5 Anonymoustache November 29, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    You’re most welcome, Scrib50, and here’s wishing you good luck and happy holidays as well.
    I don’t quite understand why you’re diamond cutting dreams are done. You’re a trailblazer, man! You go right ahead and cut that freaking diamond any which way you damn well please, who gives a damn how it turns out, we’ll call it the new ‘in thing’ and it will sell like crazy. Look around at the attire and accessories that make it big….you’re thinking about this wrong….the uglier it is, the better we can promote it as cool. Who knows, you could end up being the Picasso of diamonds!
    /ducks and runs for cover….

  6. 6 jc November 29, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Scrib, diamonds are overrated. Pie. We want Pie.
    Cut Pie.

  7. 7 Warren November 29, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    And here I always thought you wanted to be a wide-out for the Steelers.

    Hey Scrib,…Something came to mind today,…do you remember those days of you and I playing “Horse” on Bloomfield Street on the gritty playground of the catholic school? You and that damn set shot always kicked my ass,….It was money when you needed it,… shit, nothing ever wrong with that depth perception. This will pass,…and you’ll be back on the playground draining 30 footers in no time,….along with the eye patch!

    Hang in!

  8. 8 Ken November 29, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Scrib: Regarding your thwarted dream of becoming a diamond cutter. After I had a real big surgery last year, I was told that, as a consequence, I could never own a monkey or a ferret.

    Damn! Another dream dies!

  9. 9 Scicurious November 30, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Diamonds aren’t all they’re cracked up to be. Imagine all the minuscule splinters…

    Hope your Thanksgiving was lovely.

  10. 10 Jennifer November 30, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Ok, apparently my original comment turned to dust and flew away…

    I don’t remember all I said, but do recall seconding Petro’s comment.

    Looking forward to next week’s post and good news for the Scribbler.

  11. 12 Comrade PhysioProf December 4, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Dude, you could be the world’s first one-eyed diamond cutter!


Leave a Reply

Archives


