Happy Birthday!

Guess what, dear reader? A funny thing happened on the way to the keyboard as your friendly bartender prepared to write this post… he suddenly realized his blog was due for a birthday. Like tomorrow!!! Yes according to the date on my bio page which was written on November first of 2008… a day before I hacked out my very first post… “Behind the Stick” will have been here for one full year. And I almost missed it! (That’s the truth, it just hit me.)

So rather than go into my usual antics… the good, the bad, and the silly of those who raise glasses… I instead have decided to raise a glass to you. Yes, cheers to you, dear reader, thanks for one of the best experiences of my life! You deserve it. For without you, of course, this wouldn’t have happened and I wouldn’t have kept this going, your feedback is clearly what has made this for me a success… not to mention most rewarding.

Oh, I know, I know, I can hear some of you saying to yourselves, “But, Scribbler, what about the night you saved the queen’s life? That had to be much more rewarding than this, no?” Well, not really and here’s why…

See, I just happened to be in England at the time, I just happened to be in the palace that night, I just happened to be sitting next to the queen at that dinner when the old bird began to choke on of all things “bird”… a quail she had shot that morning… and I just happened to know the Heimlich Maneuver which I remembered from all my years of working in a restaurant, so I squeezed and saved. Happenstance. Fate. Right place, right time. For unlike these things which are written in a blog that take thought and careful planning, the queen thing just happened. “It was just one of those things,” like the song says.

And when Bonnie Prince Charles approached me at length with tears streaming down his cheeks, grabbed me by both of my shoulders and said in a tone that chilled every tea cup in the room, “Please, Scribbler, just grab your hat and coat and get the fuck out of here!” I could hardly call that a moment close to “rewarding”. For this man who would be king would have to wait longer. Again!

(I promised a little humor last week so that, alas, was it!)

But seriously, guys and gals, dudes and dudesses, without turning this into an Oscar night speech or a tribute to my very own self in my very own lifetime, let me just say this entire experience has succeeded beyond my wildest and in this way, without question, more than any other…

Because of this blog… this connection to the whole damn world as I see it in retrospect… I, Scribbler, a clown who didn’t even own a computer just a few short years ago, have been able to meet (anonymously or not) some of the most brilliant, the most dynamic, the wittiest, the warmest and sweetest people whom I otherwise couldn’t have met in seventeen lifetimes. And I mean that from the heart. You are all kinds of people from all walks of life who have wandered into this bar, have somehow liked what you’ve seen here, and have decided to become a regular to each week’s Happy Hour. And for a bartender (virtual or otherwise), it doesn’t get any better.

Now I can’t go into particular names of the people I’d like to thank, there are simply too many, but I would be remiss if I didn’t say a word to the following. To Mr. and Mrs. Physioprof, thank you so much for talking me into to doing this in the first place… it’s been a joy and, most important, you were right. And to you, Isis the Scientist, thank you as well for all that you’ve done and for all the traffic you’ve sent on so many occasions… you’ve been aces, dear one.

All right, since this is starting to sound like an Oscar night speech and before I thank the nuns for teaching me Spelling, let me now turn to humor where I feel most comfortable.

Remember me talking of Tony in the past, my colleague the walking malaprop? (This guy) Well let me give you another of his gems which might just manage to close this post in style. In an attempt one day to convey to me that since I was apparently well read, I might be able to help him to answer a question. But he made the point of my (erudition?) like this. “Let me ask you a question, Mr. Bartender, you that you’re very readable…”

Ahh, that Tony!

But as funny as that might sound, let’s (in a bit of a stretch) try to validate that wordage. For in all good malaprops worth their salt there is always a grain of logic to be gleaned from the salt pile, and in this case Tony unwittingly might’ve unearthed one. Meaning… I must be “readable”, at least on my blog, or dammit why would any of you ever come back?  So thank you for that, dear Tony, I’ll take it!

And thank you again for all of your support, a happy birthday to us all, and I’ll see ya’ next week when we start on our Terrible Twos!

33 Responses to “Happy Birthday!”


  1. 1 d-a-p October 31, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    believe me…the pleasure has been mine this past year…
    happy birthday
    d-a-p

  2. 2 Isis the Scientist October 31, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Your very welcome, sweet Scribbler. Happy Birthday. And now I am looking forward to raising our glasses together at the end of year two.

  3. 3 Donna B. October 31, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    ~~Happy Birthday to you~~

    I don’t remember who sent me here (it was likely Isis) but I remember my first visit. I read everything you’d written to that date. You are definitely readable.

  4. 4 Anonymoustache October 31, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Happy Blogirthday, dude, and Happy Halloween!
    Thanks for the great writing over the past year. The queen joke was priceless, BTW.
    Now I gotta get back to handing out candy and stir my cauldron of evil brew (got a big bucket of water outside that I add dry ice to periodically—makes for a home made fog machine—-the kids just freaking love it….)

  5. 6 scribbler50 October 31, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    d-a-p: Thanks, Bud, what a year it’s been. Who knew?

    Isis: Raising glasses in person I hope!

    Donna B: And you are definitely unbeatable, I don’t think you’ve ever not commented on a post. Now THAT’S a regular! Thanks, my belle of the south.

    Anonymoustache: Thought you’d like the queen deal. Hey, man, you’ve also never failed to comment (almost always the first one in) and it’s people like you I referred to when I used all those adjectives in describing the people I’ve met. Pick any one of those five adjectives they all could apply to you. Meanwhile, dude, how lucky are your kids… dad doing special effects with a freaking fog machine? What are you, George Lukas?

    Physioprof: Spoken like a true scholar, that’s why I love ya’, man. Now wash out your fuckin’ mouth with a bar of soap! 🙂

  6. 7 Pieter B November 1, 2009 at 1:51 am

    Here’s to many another year of reading you, Scrib, and to one day soon lifting a glass poured by your deft hand.

  7. 8 blue girl November 1, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Happy Blogoversary, Scribbler! Here’s to many, many more.

    And lol at Comrade PhysioProf! 🙂

  8. 9 scribbler50 November 1, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Pieter B: All the best, Pieter, and here’s to you as well for both ends of your sentence. Thanks.

    Blue Girl: Talk about lol and Physioprof, I swear to God I thought of you the minute I read his comment. Remember a few posts ago when you “begged to differ with me” when I welcomed a new reader by saying we have no rowdies around here, no wise-asses, etc.? Well, the proof is in the reading now isn’t it? Thank God Physio is my friend and thank you, Blue Girl, for wishing me a “Happy Blogoversary”.

  9. 10 Jennifer November 1, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Happy Blogoversary, Scribbler (I typed something else, but out of respect, removed it…)!

    Here’s to another year of the readable.

  10. 11 JaJa November 1, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Happy Birthday Scribbler. Looking forward to many more. The weekend wouldn’t be the same without a few words from the Scribbler.

  11. 12 blue girl November 1, 2009 at 11:00 am

    It’s great to have a wise-ass or two on the old blog. Especially someone who does it with such style! lol

  12. 13 blue girl November 1, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Gotta keep the conversation lively, as they say…:)

  13. 14 chezjake November 1, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Well done, Scribbler; it’s been a most enjoyable year. I read every week even if I don’t always comment.

    I’ll be glad to stick around for another year so long as the whisky is at least four times older than the terrible twos.

  14. 15 Miss Outlier November 1, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I have enjoyed every post, and will gladly raise a glass – may you enjoy the next year even more than the last!

  15. 16 physiobabe November 1, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Thank you, Scrib, for the fine writing. Un piccolo pezzo di paradiso.

  16. 17 Kewalo November 1, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    In a short time you have become a must read. I don’t always have anything much to say, but I sure do appreciate your blog. I have you in my blogroll right after Wolcott, and that should tell you something. LOL

    Thanks for brightening up my Saturdays and I expect to see you here next year for your next anniversary.

  17. 18 scribbler50 November 1, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    JaJa: Cheers to you and here’s to another fifty two of those week-ends. Thanks!

    Chezjake: Glad you’re still a regular and don’t worry, I’ll make it six times the “terrible twos”, how about a twelve year old Macallan?

    Miss Outlier: Thank you for the toast and cheers back at ya’!

    Physiobabe: Love that Italian! I don’t know what you said but it reads beautifully and since I see the word “Paradisio” I’m smiling. (Is it “small piece of paradise”?) Til next week.

    Kewalo: All I can say is keep coming around and I’ll keep trying to live up to your very kind words. Thanks, man.

  18. 19 jc November 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Happy Birthday squared dude!
    You had me at the Great Dane in the Morning. It’s been a freakin year? Many more.

  19. 20 scribbler50 November 1, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    jc: Wow, Great Dane in the Morning was a long time ago… that not only makes you a “regular” in this joint but a “preferred customer” with a reserved seat at the bar.
    Thanks, jc, always appreciate your stopping by.

  20. 21 physiobabe November 2, 2009 at 9:50 am

    You hit it on the head and are now an honorary Italian, Scrib. Saluto!

  21. 22 Scicurious November 2, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Happy Anniversary to one of my fav bloggers!!!

  22. 23 scribbler50 November 2, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Scicurious: Thank you, thank you, to one of my fav readers!

  23. 24 Irishirritant November 2, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Congrats,
    wandered in from Wolcott’s place.
    They said you poured a good one…
    So smooth after only a year of aging,
    gotta love the free pour.
    thanks

  24. 25 scribbler50 November 2, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Thank you, Irishirritant, maybe this site can ease what’s been irritatin’. Welcome aboard.

  25. 26 brenda November 2, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    congrats, scrib. unfortunately, you’ve ruined me. your bar has now become the ONLY bar in town. I mean, what am I gonna do at all those others dumps? Just drink? Keep pouring and I’ll be there, as the old song says.

  26. 27 scribbler50 November 2, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Brenda: And as another old songs says… “We’ve only just begun.” Here’s to a new year and renewed cheer!
    Thanks, friend.

  27. 28 siobhan November 4, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    scrib, happy happy! congrats on making it to such a fantastic milestone, and thanks for marking it with such style and aplomb. you’re the best.

    siobhan

  28. 29 scribbler50 November 4, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Siobhan: “Aplomb” you say? Well if you’ll forgive this little pun, dear friend, you’re “a plum” for saying such a nice thing. 🙂

    Congrats accepted!

  29. 30 Toaster November 5, 2009 at 1:35 am

    I come back because you’re a heavy pour on all the right notes, Scribbler.

  30. 31 scribbler50 November 5, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    Toaster: Thanks, man, I’m breakin’ out a fresh bottle for the new year. Belly up!

  31. 32 Abel Pharmboy November 15, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    How in the hell did I miss sending you a congratulatory note???? I had a major deadline around the time of this post but how heartless can I be to have missed your anniversary.

    Well, let me just say that your writing has been a joy to read over the last year and I look forward to many more of your stories. You so eloquently capture I culture I grew up with and really miss so I truly appreciate how you make it live. Even if you weren’t such a kickass writer, I’d still be indebted to you for your friendship and kindness.

    Congratulations, good sir, and here’s to many more!

  32. 33 scribbler50 November 15, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Thank you, Abel, and let me thank you as well for your friendship and kindness. It’s been quite a year and one of the highlights of that year was meeting and getting to know you, Sir.
    Best,
    Scrib


Leave a Reply

Archives


